Scotland: Lawrence Shankland called up to replace Che Adams

Adams has been a regular in Scotland’s matchday squad during qualification for Euro 2024

Lawrence Shankland has been recalled to the Scotland squad for the Euro 2024 qualifiers against Georgia and Norway following the withdrawal of Che Adams.

The Heart of Midlothian striker was initially left out of Steve Clarke’s squad, having also missed out against Spain and France last month.

But the 28-year-old has scored five goals in his last five matches and has been recalled with Adams injured.

Adams, 27, featured for Southampton as a substitute on Saturday.

Lyndon Dykes of Queens Park Rangers and Jacob Brown of Luton Town are the other strikers in the squad, with Bournemouth’s former Celtic playmaker Ryan Christie able to operate in a forward role.

Scotland have already qualified for Euro 2024 but conclude their campaign with a game in Tbilisi on Thursday (17:00 GMT) and at home against Norway on Sunday (19:45 GMT).

Captain Andrew Robertson and his fellow defenders Kieran Tierney, Aaron Hickey and John Souttar plus goalkeeper Angus Gunn and striker Kevin Nisbet are also missing through injury.

Rangers back-up Robby McCrorie returns to the squad in Gunn’s place alongside Hearts’ Zander Clark and Motherwell’s Liam Kelly.

Hickey, Robertson and Tierney’s absences mean uncapped Hellas Verona left-back Josh Doig and reserve Celtic right-back Anthony Ralston have been included.

Clarke’s side have ensured they will be in Germany next summer but have lost their last three games – to England, Spain and France.

Scotland squad

Goalkeepers: Zander Clark (Heart of Midlothian), Liam Kelly (Motherwell), Ross McCrorie (Rangers).

Defenders: Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Josh Doig (Hellas Verona), Jack Hendry (Al-Ettifaq), Scott McKenna (Nottingham Forest), Nathan Patterson (Everton), Anthony Ralston (Celtic), Ryan Porteous (Watford), Greg Taylor (Celtic).

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Lewis Ferguson (Bologna), Billy Gilmour (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ryan Jack (Rangers), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Scott McTominay (Manchester United).

Forwards: Jacob Brown (Luton Town), Ryan Christie (Bournemouth), Lyndon Dykes (Queens Park Rangers), Lawrence Shankland (Heart of Midlothian).

Source link

Leave a Comment